Home

For all of my avid readers who follow my column, I want to prepare you for what you’re about to read. It is not like anything that I’ve written or shared with you before; in fact it’s quite personal.

On June 2nd at 6 PM in Kelowna’s downtown City Park, my feet will hit the track along with many others uniting for a cause, a cause to fight back from a heinous monster called Cancer. The event that I am participating in is called Relay for Life – I’m sure many of you are quite familiar with this 12 hour event because this will be Kelowna’s 10th year hosting it.

The reason I chose this event is quite simple, Cancer has been all too familiar to me in my lifetime. Too many friends and family members have been burdened by this disease and I know as you’re reading this article you’re thinking “same here”. However, the reason I embarked on this charity event and the reason that I have today, have become quite different.

In February and unkindness knocked on my door and decided to pick me for its next victim. Unfortunately during a routine check-up an abnormality was found and I was set to be scheduled for a biopsy three months down the road.

I can’t explain how much this weighs on your mind. Every day you are living a nightmare that you can’t wake up from. One of the toughest things for me during this period was engaging in everyday conversation; I had a secret that no one knew about and I still had to carry on this act and preserve this image that everything wasn’t just ok, but everything was great. My nerves were starting to get the best of me and I felt I was slowly self destructing.

The day of my appointment to get my results had finally arrived; it was all I could do to keep my stomach put. When the doctor called me in my heart was pounding and I was hanging onto his every word, then he said it, negative. I was cancer free!

After this experience I took on a whole new perspective. I only witnessed a glimpse of what someone who is fighting this dreadful disease experiences at the beginning and one thought now weighs on my mind, what else can I do to help?

One June 2nd my team, Up All Night for the Fight, will run/walk in memory of our loved ones and in celebration to hopefully one day find a cure. This event has brought on a whole new meaning to me, this isn’t just a charity event anymore, this has become a purpose.

I want you to wake up every day and know that you are blessed. Don’t let the trivial disputes of life have a presence, because nothing is worth more than this day.

**In spirit of this event I welcome anyone to e-mail me and share your stories.

 

Leave a Reply

